12/14/15 – Journey to the 2015 California International Marathon

Last Sunday I ran my first marathon.  That’s right, marathon, 26.2 miles of blood sweat and tears…ok no blood but definitely sweat and tears.  Now, maybe that doesn’t seem like a big deal, but in the not so distant past, I was a girl who didn’t like to sweat.  I was never athletic.  I danced from the time I was little, but shied away from sports and other athletic endeavors.  I quit swim lessons when I was 4 or 5.  I got hit in the face with a softball as a teen and that was the end of that.  I played tennis in high school, but really that was a way for me to socialize and meet boys at different schools.  I never did any real playing.  In my 20’s and early 30’s I began to struggle with my weight following some health problems and joined a local gym with a work colleague.  After a little while I decided I wanted to run a 5k.  Another colleague of mine registered us for a 5k and I started training.  Slowly but surely I was able to run those 3.1 miles and my love of running was born.  Over the past several years I kept running.  I also began working out with a personal trainer and trying a variety of fitness classes. While I love exercise in general, it is running that I always come back to.  After a hip injury in 2013 and surgery in 2014 I decided to set some goals. In the fall of 2014 I was lucky to be part of a Ragner Relay Reach the Beach team where my team of 12 ran over 200 miles through the state of New Hampshire to raise money for the Boys and Girls Club of Greater Salem.  In two days I ran 17 miles.  It was a huge mental and physical accomplishment.   But I was still not fully recovered from surgery. Over the next few months as I got healthier I worked to get faster and stronger.  I took over a minute off my pace.  I was feeling great and loving every mile I ran.  Then, my brother asked if I wanted to try to run a marathon.  I was hesitant and mildly terrified, but I decided to go for it.

I learned a lot during the past 3 months.  Once I committed to running a marathon, I committed myself to run strong and stay healthy.  This meant a complete analysis and overhaul of my nutrition and training.  There was a lot of trial and error as I figured out what worked for my body.  In the end I found the balance and am prepared for what comes next.  Stay tuned for more details on my training and nutrition….

Leave a Reply

