Asking for help

It’s been close to 2 months since my last blog post.  Not because I’ve been too busy or didn’t have anything to say but because I was having trouble navigating new software.  When I first developed my website I had no idea what I was doing.  A couple of months ago I decided to actually write my blog on a “real” blogging platform and link it to my website.  That sounds easy right?  Yeah, not so much.  I’m pretty good with technology but I just could not figure out how to make this happen.  I moved all my blog content over and published it with no problem.  I read tutorials on the the internet and tried them.  But at the end of the day I just couldn’t figure it out.  So I did what any strong independent woman does when she can’t do it herself and just kept avoiding the problem.  Every day I’d think, “I need to figure out how to link my blog.  I need to work on my website.”  And every day it seemed like such and overwhelming task that I avoided it.  Until today. I finally just hit the chat button on my webpage and talked with a support person who walked me through it in less than 5 minutes.  Now here I am, writing a blog that you can see on my website!  Exciting isn’t it?  And it was so easy.  So why did it take me so long to ask an expert?

That’s a big question full of a lot of analysis I’m sure.  My point in telling you this story (because I’m sure you want me to get to it!) is that this is something we do in many areas of life.  We try to figure things out on our own and when we can’t we just avoid the issue or pretend everything is fine.  Something gets in the way of our seeking help from an expert whether that be a Dr. when we’re hurt, a therapist when we’re anxious, or a nutrition or fitness coach if we want to lose weight.  Humans are stubborn and prideful and like toddlers we want to do it ourselves!  But guess what?  It can be a lot easier and a lot less painful if we seek help.

That’s a lesson I learned today.  And hopefully one you can learn from me.  I wasted a lot of time and energy and a great deal of stress on a relatively simple solution.  It just wasn’t simple for me because I’m not a web developer. Take a minute and think about what you try to do yourself when maybe, just maybe, you could save yourself some trouble by asking for help.  Can’t reach the high shelf?  Ask for help.  Can’t figure out if that’s a muscle strain or a stress fracture? Ask for help.  Can’t figure out how to eat right or lose those 5 pounds?  Ask for help.

Leave a Reply

