Rainy Sunday in the Kitchen

Apparently it’s been 3 months since my last post. Wow. I guess I’ve been a little busy and distracted.  I got married two weeks ago and wedding planning took over all my free time the past couple of months!  But, it was worth it.  I really wanted to enjoy every minute of being engaged and planning my wedding and I definitely did.  As for the wedding itself, it  was perfect.  I couldn’t have asked for a better day and all my planning paid off.  Everything turned out how I planned and everyone had an amazing time.  At the end of the night my mom started to clean up and I was standing in the middle of the dance floor looking around, soaking it all in, I didn’t want it to end!  After unplugging in the mountains for a week and spending a week getting caught up, I’m back!

me2

 

5

 

Over the past few months I have spent a lot of time thinking about what I really wanted to do with this blog and my website and my health coaching business as a whole.  Health, both physical and emotional, is something I am passionate about.  My hope is that I can give you a peek into my world, my meals, my workouts, my hobbies and how I try to live my best life every day.  I hope you enjoy and I hope I can inspire you to live your best life.

So, how am I going to give your this peek into my world?  I thought I’d start with some recipes!  I love to cook.  I especially love to cook in the fall when I can spend the day making warm and cozy meals.  When I woke up to the sound of pouring rain this morning it seemed like a great day for pot roast especially since I had heirloom rainbow carrots just waiting to be roasted!  What better way to brighten a cold grey day than with a rich warm roast filled with rainbow carrots and potatoes?  I love these easy one pot recipes.  All I had to clean up was a cutting board, a knife, a plate and the dutch oven.  I hate dishes.  You can easily adapt it to use other veggies like parsnips or turnips or regular carrots.  You can use whatever potatoes you like or none at all.  you can mash potatoes and serve them on the side.  You can vary the spices.  Go crazy.  Make it your own. I adapted my recipe from one I found from The Pioneer Woman years ago.  Here’s my take:

Pot Roast

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 sweet onion
  • 1 bunch rainbow carrots
  • 1 pound baby potatoes
  • 3-4 cups unsalted beef stock, divided
  • salt
  • pepper
  • garlic powder
  • herbs de provence
  • 2-3 pound spoon roast

Instructions

Preheat oven to 275.  Quarter onion, wash but dont’t peel carrots, chop carrots in chunks, wash and cut potatoes in halves or quarters depending on size. Heat olive oil in dutch oven on medium.  When oil is hot add onion, once onion is browned remove, add carrots and brown for 1-2 minutes, remove, season beef generously with salt, pepper and seasonings of choice (I love herbs de provence) and brown on all sides, remove roast, pour in 1 c beef stock and deglaze pan making sure to scrape up all the good bits, return beef and veggies to the pan, add 1 – 2 cups of broth, cover, put in over for 2-3 hours depending on size.  With a spoon roast, meat should be tender enough to cut with a spoon.  This time I used chuck roast which was a bit fattier and tougher to cut but still delicious.  Delicious enough that i forgot to take a picture of the final product before we devoured it!

Save

Leave a Reply

