Rest days and Recipes

I haven’t been able to work out much this week.  I have some ongoing issues with my hips and glutes and they had been doing fine but after 2 weeks off from work my body was unhappy to be sitting down all day again.  By last Thursday my body was tight and unhappy.  After a 10 mile run Saturday, it was reallllllyyyyy unhappy.  My hip was killing.  Finally today I went to see my massage and body work guy.  Turns out my glute is misfiring. Some exercises plus some massage and I should be good as new.  He’s a magician.  If you learn one thing today, it should be to get yourself a good massage therapist.  If you’re active you’re going to need it.  So, long story short, I took a lot of rest days this week.  Never underestimate the importance of rest.

Just because I was resting doesn’t mean I wasn’t focusing on my health.  I still walked every day and whipped up some healthy and yummy recipes.  Sometimes I get creative and make my own recipes and other times I rely on one of my favorite cook books or blogs.  This week I made a few recipes from Juli Bauer over at Paleomg.com.  I don’t eat strictly Paleo, I actually don’t follow any specific way of eating, but, Juli has some of the most amazing recipes I have every made.  This week I made her 5 Ingredient Butternut Squash & Sage Breakfast Casserole.  Do yourself a favor and make this.  Now.  And don’t buy store bought sausage, use Juli’s recipe and make your own breakfast sausage.  It was crazy easy and amazingly delicious.  I can’t wait to eat it again.  To make it easier, I bought pre-cut squash.  It roasted like a dream.  I also chose to make my sausage with chicken because I just don’t like pork.  Again, it was amazing, and wicked easy.  Try it.  You’ll love it.

Hopefully in another day or two I’ll be back to working out, but in the meantime I’ll be in the kitchen or on the massage table.

Leave a Reply

