5 Things You May Not Know About Me

I realized recently that a lot of people know me as a a social worker but not everyone knows me as a nutrition coach.  I’ve been a social worker a lot longer, but both are important to who I am and what I do.  Let me take a minute to tell you a few things about Kristen, the Nutrition Coach.

  1. By trade I am a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW).  I have practiced Social Work since 2001 and have been in private practice since 2010.  As a social worker, I have worked with disordered eating; body image issues; overweight and obese clients; underweight clients; clients who cant eat or eat too much due to medical, psychological or medication issues; clients who emotionally eat; clients who have food allergies, sensitivities and intolerances; clients who have behavioral reactions to food; clients who have food phobias; and clients who just don’t know how to eat.  Suffice it to say I have spent a lot of clinical time talking about eating.  This was the number one reason I decided to become a Nutrition Coach.
  2. I am a Level 1 Certified Nutrition Coach through Precision Nutrition and am currently working on completing my Level 2 certification.  While this is a web based certification it is highly respected in the health and fitness world.  PN is a very science based program that teaches it’s coaches cutting edge information as well as how to coach the whole person. It has taught me a lot about how the human body works and has blended well with my social work background.
  3. I am an avid runner.  If I’m not running, I will likely be walking, lifting, hiking, working with my amazing personal trainer or taking a class at the gym.  I like to be active.  Because of this I have a special interest in sports nutrition.  This is the second reason I wanted to become a Nutrition Coach.  I was spending a lot of time teaching myself how to fuel myself, why not learn for others as well?
  4. I’m not perfect.  I lost 30 pounds with the help of my trainer.  I gained some of it back.  I don’t have the perfect body.  I don’t eat a perfect diet.  Sometimes I feel like that might make people think I can’t help them.  But, I think that means I am the best person to help you.  I get it.  I know what it’s like to work hard and have the scale not move.  And I know why it may not be moving.  I have the resources and tools to figure it out.
  5. I am passionate about nutrition.  Well I am passionate about all things related to food really.  I love to grocery shop, to cook, to eat, and to do so in a healthy but delicious way.  I love my work as a Social Worker but over the past decade I have become so passionate about health and wellness.  What we put in our bodies is so important. I want to help teach as many people as I can how to be healthy, eat well, and live their best life!

en bonne sante,

Kristen

Leave a Reply

