The best laid plans

Sometimes things don’t go quite according to plan.  I’ve been training for the White Mountain Milers half marathon for the past few months. (Side note, this is a great race.  beautiful, well organized, nice shirts and medals)  Last year I ran this toward the end of my marathon training and PRd my half marathon by about 15 minutes.  Now, I’m not exactly fast, but it was still pretty exciting for me to take over a minute off my mile and really enjoy the race.  I had hopes of beating last year’s time, or at least matching it.  But then I got injured. And then I got sick.  For two weeks I didn’t run at all.  When it was time to head up north for the race Friday, I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to run.  The race director was nice enough to allow me to switch into the half relay or the 5k.  On Saturday I decided I would try to run half of the half and my good friend and I swapped out our individual half marathon bibs for a relay team.  Sunday was cold and windy but the sky was blue and the sun was shining.

half6
Starting line at Conway Scenic Railroad
half3
And they’re off!

Michelle led off.  She ran a good pace and I was feeling ready when I took off.  Those first two miles were tough.  My lungs struggled to keep up and my legs were tired.  I was doubtful I was going to finish.  But as I ran through the pastures by farms and horses, I settled into a rhythm. The cobwebs cleared, my lungs opened up, and my sore hip stayed strong.

half5
Leg 1 (photo credit Michelle Tortora)
half4
Over the covered bridge on Leg 1 (photo credit Michelle Tortora)
half2
Leg 2

I crossed the finish line just 3 minutes slower than last year despite all of the doubt, uncertainty and pain.  It wasn’t the race I planned, it wasn’t the race I trained for, but in the end I listened to my body and ran my best race.  I have no regrets about my decision to switch races. I was able to finish strong and not cause further injury and we’ve already got another race lined up for Spring to work toward.  So, something things don’t go quite according to plan, but they turn out just fine in the end.

half1
Here I am crossing the finish line feeling good (photo credit Michelle Tortora)

 

Leave a Reply

