Fun in the kitchen

This weekend was chilly so I decided to whip up a batch of chili for the week.  I have a recipe for turkey chili from an old Weight Watchers cookbook that I have been making for years and keep tweaking and modifying to fit my preferences. 20161031_150658

You’ll notice it is bean free.  I made it with beans for years until I discovered my body really doesn’t like legumes. The original recipe called for ground turkey.  Turkey is great in this but grass fed beef has so much more flavor so I’ve been switching it up. I also add carrots which seems random but they add a nice sweetness. I make my own spice blend with traditional chili, paprika and cumin but add some cinnamon and cocoa.  They add a depth of flavor that you can’t quite put your finger on but I think make this chili special.  I personally like my chili thick so I usually only add the tomatoes and a bit of sauce, if you like it thinner add some stock.

20161031_14464920161031_15003820161031_15020020161031_14575920161031_150635 Serve it with the toppings of your choice.  I like some fresh avocado and a few tortilla chips.  My mom likes to add rice,  wrap it up in corn tortillas and eat it like tacos.  My husband prefers cheese and uses  tortilla chip scoops to eat it with.  Feel free to get creative.  Here’s my latest incarnation let me know how you like it!

 

Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound grass fed ground beef  (you can use turkey, I just like beef better)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 green pepper chopped
  • 1 cup frozen cut carrots (or cut up fresh, whatever is easier)
  • 1 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (I use fire roasted, for more heat use diced with green chilies)
  • 1 – 2 T chili powder
  • 1 T paprika
  • 1 t cumin
  • 1 T cocoa powder
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • garlic powder to taste

Instructions:

Heat dutch oven or stock pan on medium high, add oil, saute onion until soft, add beef and cook through, add spices, let combine and toast for a minute or two, add sauce and tomatoes, add pepper and carrots, if mixture is too thick add up to 1c chicken, beef or veggie stock. Simmer and enjoy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

